Mongolia’s opposition MPP returns to power in landslide victory

By bne IntelliNews June 30, 2016

The main opposition Mongolian People's Party (MPP) won a landslide victory in parliamentary elections held on June 29, luring back disillusioned voters amid a sharp economic slowdown and rising unemployment.

The MPP won 65 of the 76 seats in the national parliament, the State Great Khural, according to preliminary results. The capital Ulaanbaatar’s election committee said the voter turnout stood at 70.4% - 593,999 Mongolia citizens voted out of the registered 843,689, state-run Montsame news agency reported on June 30. MPP secured 34 out of 45 seats represented by Ulaanbaatar. The capital accounts for roughly half of the country’s population. Official results will be available later on June 30.

MPP is taking back power from the Democratic Party, which has ruled the country during the past four years presiding over an economy that has gone from booming to flat. The country has struggled to adapt to neighbouring China's shrinking appetite for copper and coal, which has hit commodities prices. Mongolia has borrowed billions of dollars in sovereign debt since 2012, resulting in a negative outlook from Moody’s rating agency.

The MPP, which has led the country for most of its quarter of a century as a democracy, was credited for luring investors to Mongolia. 

Related Articles

Mongolian People’s Party members request dismissal of PM and government

Some 31 members of the Mongolian People`s Party (MPP) have submitted a request to dismiss Prime Minister Jargaltulgyn Erdenebat and his government, GoGo Mongolia news agency ... more

Mongolia’s GDP up by 5.3% y/y in H1

Mongolia’s economy grew by 5.3% y/y in the first half of 2017, state-run Montsame news agency reported on August 18. Growth was mainly driven by increased ... more

EU to open "fully-fledged" delegation in Mongolia

The European Union is to establish a delegation in Mongolia, bringing its total number of delegations around the world to 140, the EU announced in a July 24 statement. ... ... more