Macedonia’s parliament elects new government of VMRO-DPMNE

By bne IntelliNews June 20, 2014

Macedonia's parliament elected the new government of the rightist party VMRO-DPMNE, state news agency MIA reported. VMRO-DPMNE has been in power since 2006, and this is its fourth government over this period. The party’s leader Nikola Gruevski is the new PM, after heading the previous three governments as well. The new government was supported by 77 lawmakers, while six voted against. The PM and the cabinet members were sworn in.

We remind that VMRO-DPMNE won 61 seats in the parliament at the early general elections held on April 27. Ethnic Albanian junior coalition partner DUI won 19 seats. This gives the two parties a solid majority in the country’s 123-seat parliament. We also remind that last month some 33 lawmakers from the biggest opposition party SDSM and its coalition partners submitted their resignations to Macedonia’s parliament.

Zoran Stavreski has kept his position of finance minister in the new cabinet, which will guarantee continuity in the Balkan country’s fiscal policy. Other reappointments by VMRO-DPMNE include the ministers of interior, foreign affairs, health, culture, transport and communications, information society and administration, as well as labour and social policy. The ministry of defence is now headed by Zoran Jolevski, the negotiator in the name issue talks with Greece, and also Macedonia’s ambassador to the USA. The Socialist Party, also a junior coalition partner of VMRO-DPMNE, continues to control the ministry of agriculture, but has changed the minister.

DUI has received one new ministry – the ministry of education, in exchange for giving up the ministry of defence. DUI also heads the ministries of justice, economy, local self-government, and environment and urban planning. Former minister of environment Abdilaqim Ademi is Macedonia’s new minister of education. The ethnic Albanian party has new people for all of its other ministries.

The new government has as many as 10 ministers without portfolio, up from five in the previous cabinet. Notably, there are no deputy PMs in the new cabinet, which compares with four in the previous one. One of the previous deputy PMs, Zoran Stavreski, has kept his position as finance minister. The other three, Vladimir Pesevski, Fatmir Besimi and Musa Xhaferi, are now ministers without portfolio.

Composition of new government of Macedonia    
Prime Minister  Nikola Gruevski  VMRO-DPMNE
Minister of Defence Zoran Jolevski VMRO-DPMNE
Minister of Internal Affairs Gordana Jankuloska VMRO-DPMNE
Minister of Justice Adnan Jashari DUI
Minister of Foreign Affairs Nikola Poposki VMRO-DPMNE
Minister of Finance Zoran Stavreski VMRO-DPMNE
Minister of Economy Bekim Neziri DUI
Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Water Supply Mihail Cvetkov Socialist Party
Minister of Health Nikola Todorov VMRO-DPMNE
Minister of Education and Science Abdilaqim Ademi DUI
Minister of Labor and Social Affairs Dime Spasov VMRO-DPMNE
Minister of Local Self-Government Ljirim Sabani DUI
Minister of Culture Elizabeta Kancheska Milevska VMRO-DPMNE
Minister of Information Society and Administration Ivo Ivanovski VMRO-DPMNE
Minister of Transport and Communications Mile Janakieski VMRO-DPMNE
Minister of Environment and Urban Planning Nurhan Izairi DUI
Minister without portfolio Vladimir Pesevski VMRO-DPMNE
Minister without portfolio Fatmir Besimi DUI
Minister without portfolio Musa Xhaferi DUI
Minister without portfolio Furkan Cako  
Minister without portfolio Nezhdet Mustafa  
Minister without portfolio Vele Samak  
Minister without portfolio Bill Pavleski  
Minister without portfolio Jerry Naumoff  
Minister without portfolio Visar Fida  
Minister without portfolio Goran Mickovski  
Source: MIA    

Related Articles

Macedonian president to veto law on making Albanian second official language

Macedonian President Gjorge Ivanov said on January 17 he veto the law that extends the use of Albanian language in the country as he thinks it is unconstitutional. The draft law was ... more

Freedom House keeps “partly free” status for Macedonia despite new government’s efforts

Macedonia was rated only “partly free” in the latest report from international watchdog Freedom House, the same almost all of the six Western Balkan countries, despite efforts by the ... more

Macedonia issues €500mn 7-year Eurobond with historic low interest rate

Macedonia issued on January 11 a seven-year €500mn Eurobond with an annual interest rate of 2.75%, the finance ministry said. This is the sixth Eurobond issue placed so far by Macedonia’s ... more