Kyrgyzstan forms coalition government

By bne IntelliNews November 4, 2015

Four parties elected in the October 4 parliamentary election in Kyrgyzstan have officially formed a majority coalition in the country’s parliament, Jogorku Kenesh, according to a statement by the Jogorku Kenesh.

Kyrgyzstan held elections on October 4, but none of the elected parties managed to win an absolute majority, making a parliamentary coalition necessary to form a government.  

The four parties of the newly-formed majority coalition are the Social-Democratic Party (SDPK), who won the elections with 27.56% of the votes (38 out of 120 seats), Ata-Meken (11 seats), the Kyrgyzstan party (18 seats), and Onuguu-Progress (13 seats). The coalition thus makes up 80 out of 120 seats and will be led by the leader of the SDPK Party, Chynybay Tursunbekov, the statement said.

The full composition of the new Kyrgyz government will be determined within the next seven days, the statement said. Additionally, the statement noted that Prime Minister Temir Sariyev is currently under consideration for retaking his current position in the new government.

The parliamentary election in Kyrgyzstan was “competitive and provided voters with a wide range of choice, while the manner in which they were administered highlighted the need for better procedures and increased transparency”, said the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) on October 5.

Related Articles

Kyrgyz candidate Babanov’s campaign accuses election officials of conspiracy

Kyrgyz presidential candidate Omurbek Babanov's campaign team on October 10 accused election officials of obstructing Babanov’s campaign in favour of a rival candidate, former ... more

Turkey-based Eurasian development bank ETDB signs memo to boost return to Iran

The Central Bank of Iran (CBI) and the Turkey-based ECO Trade and Development Bank (ETDB) have signed a memorandum on strengthening bilateral ties, the CBI said on October 10. ETDB is a Eurasian ... more

Kyrgyz deputy PM overseeing election killed in car accident

Kyrgyz Deputy Prime Minister Temir Jumakadyrov, 38, was killed in a vehicle accident on October 7 west of the country’s capital Bishkek. The vehicle he was riding in ... more