Eurasian Economic Union members invest $1.15bn in Kyrgyzstan

By bne IntelliNews November 20, 2015

Member states of the Moscow-led Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) have invested $1.15bn in Kyrgyzstan, according to the country’s economy ministry.

Kyrgyzstan joined the EEU in August 2015. The bloc, established in January 2015, was formed from the Customs Union of Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia, which in turn was set up in January 2010. Armenia joined the EEU at the beginning of 2015.

Mutual investment in the free-trade bloc has reached $23.98bn, of which $2.21bn was invested in Armenia, $7.93bn in Belarus, $9.33bn in Kazakhstan, $1.15bn in Kyrgyzstan and $3.36bn in Russia.

Kyrgyzstan marked 100 days of its membership of the union by the abolition of phytosanitary control on the border with Kazakhstan. At the same time, the country has so far failed to bring its veterinary control system in line with the EEU standards. “Kyrgyzstan still has many problems with Eurasian integration,” Danil Ibrayev, member of the Eurasian Economic Commission, was quoted as saying by news agency. “There are problems with tariff and non-tariff regulation, taxation and migration.”

Related Articles

Evolution Equity Partners closes $125mn cybersecurity-focused fund

Evolution Equity Partners announced on 17 July the final closing of a new fund with total capital commitments of $125mn to make investments in cybersecurity and next generation enterprise software ... more

Bishkek, Skopje cheapest cities for expats says new survey

The capitals of Kyrgyzstan and Macedonia are among the cheapest cities worldwide for expatriates, Mercer’s latest cost of living survey showed.  The survey is aimed at helping multinational ... more

Lawyers, relatives protest after Kyrgyz opposition figures sentenced

Lawyers and relatives of three Kyrgyz opposition politicians arrested in 2016 on charges of plotting to overthrow the government held protests against the convictions on April 18.  The ... more